Joint Agreements

Students residing in District 528 who wish to enroll in an approved program of study not offered by McHenry County College, may be eligible for a joint agreement to attend another community college in Illinois that offers that curriculum. A student approved for a joint agreement will be entitled to that college's in-district tuition rates.

Guidelines for Authorization of Joint Agreements »

The largest joint agreement in which MCC participates is known as CAREER (Comprehensive Agreement Regarding the Expansion of Educational Resources). Any career program (Associate of Applied Sciences or certificate) offered at one of the following Illinois community colleges but not offered at MCC, is eligible for joint agreement.

  • CAREER Consortium Community Colleges
    • Black Hawk College
    • Carl Sandburg College
    • City Colleges of Chicago
    • College of Dupage
    • College of Lake County
    • Danville Area Community College
    • Elgin Community College
    • Harper College
    • Heartland Community College
    • Highland Community College
    • Illinois Central College
    • Illinois Eastern Community College
    • Illinois Valley Community College
    • John A. Logan College
    • John Wood Community College
    • Joliet Junior College
    • Kankakee Community College
    • Kaskaskia College
    • Kishwaukee Community College
    • Lake Land College
    • Lewis and Clark Community College
    • Lincoln Land Community College
    • Moraine Valley Community College
    • Morton College
    • Oakton Community College
    • Parkland College
    • Prairie State College
    • Rend Lake College
    • Richland Community College
    • Rock Valley College
    • Sauk Valley Community College
    • Shawnee Community College
    • South Suburban College
    • Southeastern Illinois College
    • Southwestern Illinois College
    • Spoon River College
    • Triton College
    • Waubonsee Community College

In addition to programs offered by CAREER consortium schools, MCC participates in program specific joint agreements with the following community college:

  • Gateway Technical College

Joint agreements are restricted to programs that result in Associate in Applied Science degrees or certificates and will not be approved for individual courses, prerequisites, developmental courses, non-credit courses, and Associate in Arts, Associate in Science, Associate in Fine Arts, Associate in Engineering Science or Associate in General Studies degrees. Authorization is limited to one program per applicant at any time.

Complete and submit the Joint Agreement Request form. This form must be completed 30 days prior to the official beginning of the semester. Approved joint agreements are valid for one fiscal year and must be renewed every year.

Out-of-district students desiring an Associate in Applied Science degree or certificate program at McHenry County College that is not available at your local community college may apply for a joint agreement from your local community college. For more information, contact the community college serving the district you reside in.